RSS

Stories of the Bru—A Bru discovers Brooklyn—Final Chapter

08 Aug

                             My mommy…I miss you

        “You mean to tell me, you can’t speak to him anymore.” Maria’s olive complexion darkened, “can’t talk to me anymore?” Hands were whirling about the young teen. She was somewhere between anger and pity. I didn’t know whether to hold her or duck.

       “Maria…I’m sorry. I can not disobey.” I just wanted her to understand.

       “Holy shit girl! You’re serious. I though this was only in dah movies…you gotta be kiddin’.” But I was not smiling or even looking at the best friend I ever had. I just started to cry.

      “Mommy…don’t do that.” I heard Maria use the word when she was talking to her little niece. The young girl was crying, she had lost a dollar.

     “Oh mommy…no mommy…I will give you a dollar…my little mommy.” Arms wrapped themselves around her sister’s child. I wished Maria would do the same with me. It comforted the little girl, about eight. Now, Maria hoped it would work on me. Sometimes I felt that age.

   “I don’t want to not be your friend.” Her voice exploded at my statement.

   “What dah hell you lookin’ at?” Two senior boys quickened their step to avoid any other comment. Maria was on fire.

    “Ok! This is what you will do. I’m not kidding…sometime you got to cut them apron strings with a chainsaw.” Maria rambled with a list of actions that the two of us would perform. I knew that deceiving my mother was the only alternative. I felt at the crossroads of life. A choice was to be made. Looking at the young girl that showed me nothing but love and true friendship, I spoke.

    “Maria…Maria…” I had to have her stop talking.

    “What, Rosie…baby?” Her smile was as big as her heart.

   “I can not disobey my mother. I can not.” My words were said with little strength. The last three were frail and weak, yet their affect on Maria was powerful.

    “Girl…you are something…you gonna let her pick your husband, too.” Maria fell back, her retreat halted by the Elantra parked to her back.

    “Maria…I know you don’t understand. But we’ve been through so much together. She is more than my mother…she is my life.” Somehow, my tears stopped. Maybe it was the shocked, and silent, expression from my dear friend.

     I spent the day in school, quiet and invisible. Mario decided to spend the day trying to find a tuxedo stylish enough and cheap enough for the prom.

Maria, stay’d close by. No one would know that our friendship might end by the next day of classes. We talked and hugged as I waited for the bus. Sorrow is not an unusual feeling for a Bru woman. There have been so many hardships endured and so many injustices forced upon my people, that tears or grief could easily become a way of life. But even now in the small enclaves of Montagnards dotting America and their little huts in the Highlands, memories of good times and good friends bring strength. My people think of the kind and brave men of the Special Forces that lived and died with our fathers. Now, as I sat sullen and full of remorse on the noisy and crowded bus, I would think of Maria. The time with her, though short would live on forever.

    “Rosie! Its you!” The cell announced with the oriental ring tone, selected for her friend that Rosita was calling.

   “What? Are you kidding? Wow! Thank God, we didn’t tell Mario.” A sudden burst of tears erupted from Maria’s eyes.

   “Mommy? What happened?” Her mother continued in Spanish. It would be awhile before the girl could compose herself enough to explain.

   “I want you to sleep early tonight. But remember…you have to call Mrs. M. She misses you so.” I decided, as a good friend to begin my sobbing. I bid Maria goodnight and continued with my happy display of liquid.

    “Why are you crying? You are such a good girl. I am so proud of you.” Mother was topless. She decided to walk around in that condition till a proper nightshirt was found.

    “My little water flower.” She only called me that when I was hurt or scared. At this moment, I was neither.

    “Mommy…thank you…thank you so very much.” Seeing her half-dressed reminded me of our time together in the Highlands. As people began to disappear, migrating East and West, we felt a freedom that brought us back to our tradition and our roots. Clothing was a necessary that meant modernization and corruption. Her appearance let me feel eleven again. Safe and secure attached to my mother’s hip.

    My mother called Mrs. M to ask for guidance on the problem. Mother never told me what was discussed or what was said, but the end of her phone call led to my attending the prom.

    Her aunt made Maria’s sister’s dress. It was beautiful. Agua colored, it featured a beaded halter. The halter straps led to a T strap on my back. And yes, it was open. Even in my size, it was fitted and as Maria’s mother giggled, “its tight in all the right places.” I actually looked as if I had breasts. Or at least notable ones.

My mother only winced when she realized the split to the side stopped just below my hip.

    Mario was a sweet and polite boy. I knew he was disappointed at the small amount of touching he could perform. I think he thought I was not interested in him, or not as much as other girls that he had dated. How could I tell him, he was the first boy that I ever kissed? The first boy, whose tongue swirled in my mouth? How could I tell him, his gyrating tongue was making my head and other parts of my body explode? Ten years have passed, and I still can’t tell a guy that stuff…Can you?

    Writing this story is a tribute to a part of me that no longer breathes her life throughout my life. Little did I realize, before two years would pass, she would be gone?

    I will not be posting for a while…kind of getting back to my roots…

But let everyone say…if that person is shopping at the mall or in heaven…wherever she    is?

                                                   My mommy…I miss you

 

26 responses to “Stories of the Bru—A Bru discovers Brooklyn—Final Chapter

  1. jgavinallan

    August 8, 2011 at 12:22 am

    I think this is my last post for awhile…It is unfortunate that the type size and formatting is not what I desire…but…I guess there are real problems in the world…so I’ll survive.
    Love to everyone…
    no internet for a month or more…OMG!
    Jaye
    AKA…Nước Hoa

     
    • Lisa (Woman Wielding Words)

      August 9, 2011 at 1:31 am

      Why aren’t you posting for a while? Where are you heading? I’ll missyou.

       
      • jgavinallan

        August 9, 2011 at 1:41 am

        Lisa…never mind me…your last post…wow! Talk about hook.
        I will send e mail…I will miss you also…but will try…internet is not world wide…
        Jaye

         
    • Shaun

      August 12, 2011 at 9:30 am

      Hopefully it’s for just a month, not more.

       
      • jgavinallan

        September 22, 2011 at 9:16 am

        Thanks…it may be more than i thought…stories here are easy to write…it is inspirational lace
        Jaye

         
  2. Bodhirose

    August 8, 2011 at 12:53 am

    This was very happy and very sad too. The end–the part about losing your mother left me sad with tears.

    I’m sorry the formatting could not be managed to your liking. I’ll miss you while you’re gone but hope you have a good trip. I’ll be thinking of you, Nuoc Hoa.

    Love,
    Gayle

     
    • jgavinallan

      August 8, 2011 at 12:59 am

      Gayle…I just had such a day…I thought it would be great to finish…everything is wonderful…to hell with the formatting…lol
      I am so glad you enjoy the work and understand it…after all…it is fiction…lol
      I will be home soon and hope to chat for awhile.
      Your new post is deep…and the other one is so small in words…yet so descriptive…how do you do it?
      love and hugs
      Jaye
      xoxo
      oops…oh well you know who…

       
  3. liv2write2day

    August 8, 2011 at 6:19 pm

    This ending made me feel sad and a bit incomplete even though there was a bit of happiness too. But isn’t that how life is? I’ll miss you and your encouragement while you take a break from the Internet but real life is important too. Love to you, Jaye.

     
    • jgavinallan

      August 8, 2011 at 7:18 pm

      Victoria:
      I miss everyone already…maybe I will convince myself to get courage and write a poem or answer a prompt…maybe the Tiger Spirit will inspire me

      love Jaye

       
  4. Spectra

    August 9, 2011 at 6:18 pm

    Your writing always makes me contemplate certain ages of my life. Sorry about the mother you have written about, fiction or not. I do hope your break refreshes you. A break can do that. You’ll come back ready, and raring to go, I am sure.

    Take Care, Jaye

    -Spectra

     
    • jgavinallan

      August 9, 2011 at 8:21 pm

      Spectra:
      I never told you in that pic you look like a famous actress. Not anyone special…just that you do…
      Thanks again…and I hope to be full of tales…I will be where most of the Bru Tales come from…Central Highlands
      byebye
      Jaye

       
      • Spectra

        September 9, 2011 at 3:35 pm

        So glad you are going back there. Think of the new insights and sensory information you will have stored during this trip! I’m sure this will have refreshed you and we’ll see and feel it in your stories, up-close descriptions, new perspective, etc.

        And thanks for the movie star compliment. (I just gained a whole lot of weight and have been posting about it recently since you’ve been away)

        Well, it has been exactly one month now, and WHERE ARE YOU???

        Look forward to your return.

        -Spectra

         
      • jgavinallan

        September 22, 2011 at 9:08 am

        You are a movie star…lol…I am minutes from Xe pon…just like stories.
        Miss your posts…internet is a luxury…like cell service…
        love to all
        Jaye

         
  5. Jade-Mei

    September 2, 2011 at 4:27 pm

    A beautiful part that truly touches one’s heartstrings and releases all sorts of emotions…
    I hope you have a wonderful break (I apologize for being so late to find this out -.-). I cannot wait until you return.

    Much love,
    Jade
    Ni de peng you.

     
    • jgavinallan

      September 22, 2011 at 9:14 am

      Jade…wode hen hao de peng you…Wo ye xiang nian ni.
      I xi wang kan nide gu shi…ni ai nide te be de gu shi…
      oops…I am forgetting my grammar
      再见
      Wo xi wang na…dui…wode han yu—mama wuwu(lol)
      Jaye

       
      • Jade

        October 5, 2011 at 5:04 am

        Oh Jaye, how I miss you! Broken chinese and all! I really hope that you’re doing well and that it won’t be long until we see more of your writing. You’re so unbelievably talented! Thank you, as always, for your kind words. You give me great encouragement.
        Keep telling stories, no matter where you are!
        Much Love, and be safe!

        -Jade

         
  6. Inside the Mind of Isadora

    September 7, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    The final chapter was sad. You ended it with such a longing for it to have been different.
    So sad about the loos of the Mother. If you are referring to your loss may you feel hope in that she is looking down on you and guiding your path. It was so well done.

    I will miss your writing but I will miss you more. You have been a beacon of light and
    encourgement to continue into the writing waters. Please be safe and come back soon,
    wode peng you.

    Namaste,
    Isadora xoxox

     
    • jgavinallan

      September 22, 2011 at 9:10 am

      So glad you feel better…that is what is important. Sdo much color and atmosphere here…it is a living inspit=ration. All senses are touched by the jungle
      hugs and toosless
      Jaye

       
  7. Bodhirose

    September 12, 2011 at 5:11 am

    Sure do miss you, Jaye! Just wanted you to see a message from me if you are able to hook into some internet while traveling. I look forward to your return and your great stories, my friend.

    Love,
    Gayle xoxo

     
    • jgavinallan

      September 22, 2011 at 9:07 am

      Gayle:
      Missingyou also…little time but had to square all back msgs.
      Thanks for understanding…it sound dramtic but nmaybe staying longer than I planned.
      Love it here…it is free and no worry
      hugs and more hugs
      Jaye

       
  8. Invisible Mikey

    September 20, 2011 at 4:22 am

    Though I was late in reading this, it was so worth the wait. I’ll leave this comment for you to read when you get your internet service back. I had a very satisfying cry reading the story. Crying is very difficult for me to achieve, and it is good for me as it is for everyone. You’ve done me a great service, Jaye.

     
    • jgavinallan

      September 22, 2011 at 9:04 am

      Thanks so much…living my stories now…lol
      Jaye

       
  9. Bodhirose

    September 28, 2011 at 8:35 pm

    Hi Jaye! I have nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award!

    http://bodhirose.wordpress.com/2011/09/28/the-versatile-blogger-award-2/

     
    • jgavinallan

      September 29, 2011 at 5:16 am

      Gayle…I thought I would see you. Thank you for the nom. I will send e maiil or msg abd tell all
      hugs and lots of missings
      nuoc hua

       
  10. Eng. Hasan Al-Bahkali

    September 2, 2012 at 6:47 pm

    Nice blog

    Eng.Hasan Al-Bahkali

     
  11. mysticcooking

    September 9, 2012 at 3:29 am

    I’m sorry you won’t be posting for a while – hopefully you’ll be back blogging soon.

    I used to follow you a lot when I was writing over at StorySketches. I moved over to a different blog now, but I would like to nominate you for the booker blog award. Details here:
    http://mysticcooking.wordpress.com/2012/09/09/the-booker-award-nomination/
    Thanks! – Kati

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

